• Thread starter shano
  • Start date
  • Replies 25
  • Views 5K

Discuss Australia in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

S

shano

hello there,,ive been tiling for 11years now and was self employed for the last 6 years but of course ive no papers for proff..did not hav any idea how hard it was to go into Australia what can i do ive loads of refrences and stuff do you get your skill test in oz or before you go .Its driving me mad.ive a family so i cant get the work visa ...
Any help with emigrating would be greatfully appreciated please

S

shano

tanx u,,,do any of you guys no wat to expect when been interviewed by Australia skill assessment by video link?? i hear tiling is very different in oz... any tips???

M

Max@ableskills

Hi, welcome and good luck. I have had a few candidates go down the AQF 3 route after they have finished their training with us by using an independent AQF 3 assessor. I know of one lady who achieved AQF 3 and is now happy in melbourne australia so it is possible

C

carlb

Hey Shano. I can't help you directly, as I am pretty tied up with other social issues ,retired, living in rural South Australia and things are pretty hard here as well ( for people in my circumstance) - ( but we don't have the problem you guys in EU have with what the banks have done to you... someone has to make them take responsibility, but that also involves the politicians).
I'll ask my son when he gets back from his honeymoon soon. I'll ask him what can help with the emigration issue , as he has just married a girl from the Netherlands... but don't hold your breathe.
In the meantime, keep your chin up , keep focussed.. and keep looking after your family

Carlb

C

carlb

Max (?).. Thank you for your welcome and kind thoughts. AQF 3 route? I retired in 1989 , and (through my own bad experiences ) became a social activist who gets out there and tries to help people.