Discuss Adjoining Rooms in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

I

inspecta72

Hi guys, I have a question regarding something that's driving me nuts! We have just had a friend (he being a tiler by trade) lay 60 X 60 porcelain floor tiles in the kitchen and hall - these being adjoining rooms. The guy laid the first tiles in the kitchen along the longest straight wall opposite the kitchen units and kept everything nice and straight from thereon. However, we have a pretty old house and nothing (and I mean nothing) is straight and when he attempted to 'flow' the tiles into the hall, he realised they would not be straight according to the hall room/walls. Therefore he laid the tiles straight according to the room and so now the grout lines, although adjoined at the doorway, angle off to the right to the extent that it can be immediately seen. Now unfortunately, the tiles are set and on being questioned about the issue the tiler said that he really had no option because the rooms are totally out of line with each other. My question is, is the guy trying to pull one and is it really such a problem? I need to add that I WILL be using a transition strip at the door.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, Steve.

peteablard

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Do you mean the tiles are running square down the hall so in effect he has cut a tile at an angle in the doorway to swing them round?

W

White Room

Hi and welcome.....I sometimes find the eye tends to be the best way for the layout with your kind of walls, if it's running into from the hallway into the kitchen I follow the line from there....more so if the front door opens to the hallway and the tiles follow straight into the kitchen.

beanz

TF
Reaction score