Discuss Laying Brazilian Sate in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Andy

TF
Reaction score
Hi there Newbie here , I have a couple of questions for you guys / girls , Firstly is it possible to lay Brazilian slate tiles straight into sharp sand that’s been levelled and whacked down , Secondly which grout do you use and thirdly what to use to give a wet look too the tiles , I’ve read dozens of threads on interweb but all conflicting my head is well and truly battered many thanks for any help Andy

D

Dumbo

Do you mean sand and cement or just sand ,
Grout wise probably bal flexible wide joint grey grout .

You can put a topical sealer on to make them shine but this is not great as it wears dull , basically if you want something shiny buy something shiny , sows ears and silk purses etc ,

T

Time's Ran Out

Assuming it’s exterior and they are 50mm thick yes lay in sand!
No need to grout as it will fall out as the tiles/paviors move and nothing will stay shiny outside for very long.

Andy

TF
Reaction score
Do you mean sand and cement or just sand ,
Grout wise probably bal flexible wide joint grey grout .

You can put a topical sealer on to make them shine but this is not great as it wears dull , basically if you want something shiny buy something shiny , sows ears and silk purses etc ,
Hi it’s just sharp sand , and yes ya Ryt about silk purse n sows ears ,, I’m thinking it’s one big mess at present, cheers

B

Bill

To get a gloss finish, try a masonry varnish - did loads of slate in the eighties with a fashion to have a gloss look. It works.

D

Dumbo

Already has I recon , any tips on how to rectify the problem ? Would be greatly appreciated, cheers
Let's just clarify. When you say is it possible what you mean is you or someone has done it and how can you fix it ? Is that right

Andy

TF
Reaction score